Finding Gill – Revolting revolutionary. Part 1

Kill Gill???

Nut Box Signs Brand & Design - Retail and Corporate

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/magazine/6979731.stm

As a mentor, teacher, typographic designer, sign writer and survivor of abuse I find myself having to examine my own conscience as to whether or not I can continue to use Gill’s work in my practice.

So as a start-point of this exploration I have included an extract and comments from the BBC article ”Can the art of a paedophile be celebrated?”

My first thoughts are of course sympathy and heartfelt grief for those who suffer abuse and those who suffered under the wretched acts of Gill.

I have to then think about whether I can grant as fact that even such an odious culprit could poses a ‘good side’ let alone be able to bring joy and genuine benefit to society as a whole.  The temptation at this point is to broker comparisons:  would I talk to Hitler about art etc etc.

I dare say at first no…

View original post 2,323 more words

Like this post? What do you think?

