NGS Signsmiths of London – nickgarrettsigns@gmail.com

MORE INFO Course 1:  An Intro to lettering and layout design workshops 1 day ‘NGS Signsmith’ course

Showing how to set out a sign panel and letter it professionally. But there’s much more to it… and a lot of it is really simple logical stuff which will take you to the next level wherever you are.

It is important the first touch of the brush to panel is a positive one and for sure I will make your first step in the journey of signwriting a really confident one.  Nick Garrett

You will get straight into look n learn technique sessions that will describe how to flow out the difficult segments and eat the easy.   It’s fun especially when you see progress at every stage. you will learn:    –  What not to do!  Sounds obvious but a lot of writers use frankly odd techniques that add time and fatigue.   –  Application and using the brush or quill:  The crucial X factor of mix and application for letter segments.    –  Breathing and flowing out the work – again it sounds logical but once you learn how to relax the whole process becomes one big joy. More skills on the day.

  • Specking out a job – pitfalls and what really counts arriving on site
  • Font structure – London fonts and general rules
  • Practice the strokes – this is it!! We’ll play with paint together
  • Hand drawing – a great excuse to get out and about for some live sign analysis and letter sketching
  • Lettering flow – the twists and turns and how to get it right easily… yep easily.
  • Best Materials: fine tuning mixtures, colour mixing and brush care

……………………………………………………………………………………………

ARTICLE –  http://desight.wordpress.com/2012/03/17/a-woman-sign-writer-at-parsons-green/  ……………………………………………………………………………………………

ARTICLE –   http://www.nickgarrettsignwriter.com/ways-of-lettering/

………………………………………………………………

GALLERY

Sign crew

Signsmiths weekender NGS London signwriting crew sweep

Signsmiths weekender NGS London signwriting crew

I train you in a clear logical way

10254040_715654948455772_3406980894788386647_n

Inspirational foundation font structure

johnston_artwork_0 alpha mod 9 

Find project ideas on our dedicated Pinterest board

Ways of painting

51 Linear letter formation

Alphabet of Type

1891013_10201424958656893_1983931077_n   gold-calligraphy

047.jpg

Understand the Pure Form of Johnston Underground and traditional London Romans. 1926634_10203083070055668_1599659032_n (2) 1911717_10203083073095744_1209455743_n   1901231_10153856684440151_759241244_n  I Like Gill    1798667_10153856680150151_883441284_n

Love to see you next time

………………………………………………………………

NGS Sign Smith Handbook 2014.4

Artist     Lettersmith     Teacher    Creative

PDF Course Guide Front Page

Download our PDG intro course guide.

…………………………………………………………………

an enriching creative experience

Email nickgarrettsigns@gmail.com

………………………………………………………………

TESTIMONIALS

I first came across this lovely man via e-mail, corresponding with him for some time.  He drew up my SHANGRI-LA TATTOO sign referenced from a fonte That dated back to the turn of the 20th century. On the day of painting the sign,
The piece was executed smoothly without fuss.  In addition I asked if I could assist in the production, bless, (surely a liability), which was received with good humour and reception.
I have had such a craving for this intriguing craft that I prompted Mr Garrett to do a introductory course .
Hence,I found myself on a train to Sydnem!
He was a brilliant host, relaxed yet professional.
We all lunched together in true Italian spirit.
He was Honest and humorous.
The day was enlightening and stimulating!
Thank-you Nick Garrett!
You truly are the Saint of Signwriting. I really liked the painting you did on your birthday. Have asked for One Shot from my family as present s. Hope I’ve got some nice colours.  Dan X
Ciao Nick!
How are u?
I removed the 'old' sign i showed you and do it again with signs brushes, the old one i made it with acrylic and artists brush was messed up. Its been hard to remove it and re-trace it... but at the end i was happy to use the brushes all day. The tricks u taught to me really helped me! Thanks Nick!
I hope to see u soon!

Gabriele

Hi Nick, really enjoyed the class last Saturday although hard to start with. Would love attending 12th April. Please put my name down for that corner space in the gallery. Really wanna develop and eventually go semi pro. Take care. Fred
Nick’s passion and experience both come into play in these courses. His informal but informed approach to the subject combines years of industry knowledge with a clear love of the craft that can’t help but enthuse those partaking and stirring a desire to hone craft and create good work. I’ve been a graphic designer for a few years but have somewhat lost my crafting skills due to the digital age spending my days clicking away on a mouse and so I have initially struggled to grasp the finer qualities of brush and clean lines but in the space of a few hours I saw a marked improvement. With gentle encouragement Nick has gotten me hooked and safe to say I shall be using the skills learned to facilitate my own learning and attempt to incorporate this craft into my working life and personal projects. 
                                             – Ben Anthony 

………………………………………………………………

It’s fun creative experience.

Email nickgarrettsigns@gmail.com

If it shows a 0039 code it is because I am on double sim card (I eurocommute!) – leave a message or email me.

………………………………………………………………

Enjoy the pages

NOTICE:  NGS No longer support the use of Eric Gill fonts or artwork in any form.